How to remove unwanted backup data in Comet?

Question

After deleting the protected items or the devices associated with the protected items, the storage usage shows the same value. How to properly reduce used storage space in Comet Backup?

Answer

Deleting Protected Items or Storage Vaults from the Comet Server does not instantly delete the data chunks from the storage repository. Comet Backup will still delete the data from the storage vault according to the retention policy configured for the storage vault. 

The best way to do it is to adjust the retention policy instead of deleting the protected item or revoking the device right away. If you proceed with doing this, the data will be kept in the storage vault.

Two common scenarios:

  1. If the Storage vault is still present in the user profile. You can adjust the retention policy configured to the storage vault to delete the data according to the retention range you specified. After adjusting the retention policy, you may execute a manual retention pass for the storage vault. 

    Note: Please make sure that there is no retention policy configured in the Protected Item for this Storage Vault. The retention policy configured in the Protected Item overrides the Storage Vault retention policy. This is further discussed in this section of the available documentation regarding the retention policy.

  2. If the Storage Vault has already been deleted from the Comet Server console. Retention passes cannot be run on deleted Storage Vaults. The data will be kept in the original Storage Vault location until the data is deleted. 
    To have the Management Console clean up deleted storage automatically, configure Cluster Manager to the storage template. Setting up Cluster Manager will perform automatic cleanup on all buckets not associated with active user accounts. This is further discussed in this section of the available documentation:
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.